Reiki Time for iOS

Reiki Time on Apple App Store

Starting and Running

When you launch Reiki Time for iOS the first time, an alert will tell you that to stop the timer and cancel the running schedule, you need to tap on the screen thrice. It might be a somewhat unusual requirement, but the idea behind it is that you should be able to slip iPhone with running Reiki Time into your pocket without worrying that a random touch will cancel the running schedule. A triple touch isn’t a gesture that can be performed unintentionally, and in my testing such an arrangement works quite well. But if you’ll find it uncomfortable, please let me know.

Here is how the app looks before you’ve changed anything:

Main screen of Reiki Time

Main screen of Reiki Time

There is a list of standard hand positions, which you can probably find in many Reiki books, with some reasonable time interval assigned to each step. You can simply press the Start button, and Reiki Time will start counting seconds of your healing session:

Reiki Time is running the default schedule

Reiki Time is running the default schedule

Triple-tap the screen to stop the timer, for now. Let’s see how the schedule can be modified.

Modifying the Schedule

First of all, you can delete any step by either swiping on it from the right, or by pressing the Edit button at the top right, then tapping on one of the red buttons that appear against the items:

Deleting an item from the schedule

Deleting an item from the schedule

You can also easily change the order of the items. Just drag an item to a different location touching it close to the right edge, where the reordering icon appears in editing mode:

Reordering schedule items

Reordering schedule items

Saving the Modified Schedule (Premium Mode Only)

If you’ve upgraded Reiki Time to the Premium Version, you can save the modified schedule for future use under a specific name. The basic free version simply saves the single schedule each time you modify it. In the Premium Version, tap on the Save button (the third from the left on the toolbar). A view for saving the schedule will appear:

Saving a modified schedule

Saving a modified schedule

Later, you can load the new schedule when you need it by pressing the Load button (the second from the left on the toolbar). You will then see all the available schedules, and you can select and load any of them:

Loading a saved schedule

Loading a saved schedule

Modifying an Item, or Adding a New One

Tap on any item, and in the view that will open then you’ll be able to change any of the item’s properties: its label (that can be read by the app aloud if you allow it to do that), the interval of time, in minutes, and whether to use vibration to signal the end of the interval. In the premium version, there is also a button that allows you to choose for this item any of multiple sounds that come with the app.

Editing an existing item

Editing an existing item

If you press the + button at the top right of the main screen, the same view will appear to allow you to add a new item to the schedule.

Changing the Volume

You can control the volume of the sound produced by the app with the volume controls of your device. I usually do it like this:

1. Tap on an item as if you are going to edit it.

2. On the screen where you select a sound for this item (which will be different, depending on whether you are using a free or a Premium version of the app) try tapping on different sounds. For example, you are going to use the Gong sound. Tap on some other sound, say Tick, then on Gong.

3. Decide whether the volume is good enough for your current environment, and if necessary change it using your device’s volume controls. The selected volume will then be the same for all the other items of the schedule.

Settings

Press the leftmost button on the toolbar, and you’ll see the settings screen. Here you can:

  • Allow or disallow the app to read the items’ labels aloud.
  • Update to the Premium Version if you haven’t done that yet.
  • Restore the Premium Version after reinstalling the app.
The Settings screen

The Settings screen